digital York Logo
Section Image

Connecting People

Ensuring that all have the opportunity and skills for affordable access to broadband


Explore York Libraries & Archives Digital Offer

As the city’s public library service, Explore prides itself on reaching out to all communities across the city via its fifteen libraries and two reading cafes. Free access to PCs and wifi internet is offered at each of the service points. Explore also offer a comprehensive learning programme to help people use digital technology and get online:

Explore Computers

During these free hour-long one-to-one sessions learners are introduced to the very basics of using a computer. From turning the machine on to accessing the internet browser, from using a mouse and keyboard to creating a Word document, this session helps the learner understand exactly what a computer is and how it can benefit them.

Explore the Internet

This free five-week course, run in group sessions at all of the Explore centres, provides a next step for those who have completed an Explore Computers session or other beginners who are looking to improve their internet skills. During the sessions, learners can move at their own pace through a selection of interactive on-screen courses to help them gain an understanding of internet safety, email, online government services, searching the internet and using the NHS online.

Explore Tablets & E-Readers

These free weekly drop-in sessions allow Explore customers to experience tablet and e-reading technology before they purchase a device of their own. Explore staff are on hand to demonstrate such devices as Apple iPad, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Google Nexus, Kindle Fire, Tesco Hudl, Kobo, Nook and many others besides.

Tablets Plus

If Explore customers have purchased a tablet device, they may wish to find out how to get the most out of it. These hour-long one-to-one sessions, priced at £15 per person, offer a chance to ask direct questions about all tablet devices, including more intermediate tasks and resources such as changing settings, downloading and using apps, using cloud storage, taking and storing photographs and much more.

Explore Digital Workshops

Explore also hosts a wide variety of free digital workshops to help people understand other aspects of the digital world. Recent sessions have included introductions to social media, mobile messaging services, online banking, internet shopping, cloud computing, family history online and blogging. Explore also works with partners to host sessions as part of national initiatives such as Get Online Week, Be Online, Adult Learners’ Week, 50+ Festival and many others. Sessions are advertised via local media, social media, through partnering organisations and at our service points.

For details of our packed digital schedule, or if you require any help, please don’t hesitate to contact Explore York Libraries & Archives on one of the following numbers. You can also find more information at our website at www.exploreyork.org.uk

 

Explore Acomb Library

acomb@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552651

Bishopthorpe Library

bishopthorpe@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552678

Explore Clifton Library

clifton@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552662

Copmanthorpe Library

copmanthorpe@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552672

Dringhouses Library

dringhouses@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552674

Dunnington Library

dunnington@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552668

Fulford Library

fulford@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 555444

Explore Haxby Library

haxby@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552660

Huntington Library

huntington@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552669

New Earswick Library

newearswick@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552629

Poppleton Library

poppleton@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552680

Rowntree Park Reading Cafe

 

01904 551489

Strensall Library

strensall@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552677

Sycamore House Reading Cafe

 

07789 921107

Explore Tang Hall Library

tanghall@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552655

Explore York Library

york@exploreyork.org.uk

01904 552828

 

 

A LITTLE ABOUT US

The Digital York website will provide a source of up to date information on York's digital infrastructure provision including private sector investment and investment levered by public funds, work to promote digital inclusion and initiatives to encourage exploitation of emerging York's world-class infrastructure.

LATEST NEWS

CONTACT US

If you would like to speak to us about any of the projects or schemes underway, please contact our business team on:

+44 (0)1904 552999
digitalcity@york.gov.uk

© DIGITAL YORK 2017. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Contact Details


* Required field

YOUR DETAILS

YOUR MESSAGE*


Privacy Policy:  We will never share your information with anyone. We will only contact you with regards to your enquiry.